Arizona Cardinals Home: The official source of the latest Cardinals headlines, news, videos, photos, tickets, rosters and game day information

Ring Of Honor List Grows To 14

A look at the 13 Ring of Honor players inducted before Kurt Warner


Safety Larry Wilson (8) is one of the previous 13 members of the Cardinals' Ring of Honor. Quarterback Kurt Warner will be the 14th.

Quarterback Kurt Warner will be added to the Cardinals Ring of Honor on Sept. 8 when the team kicks off its season on Monday Night Football against the Chargers. Warner played five seasons with the Cardinals from 2005-2009, leading them to two playoff appearances, including the memorable 2009 Super Bowl run.

"The franchise dates back to 1898, and when you think about the men that are in that Ring of Honor, there are now going to be 14, and they're the best of the best," team president Michael Bidwill said. "Not just in the Cardinals' history, but really in the league, too, because 11 of those 13 are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and we hope that Kurt finds his way to the Pro Football Hall of Fame very soon."

Here is the list of the 13 other players, coaches and owners Warner will join in the Ring of Honor:

Charles W. Bidwill, owner, 1933-1947: Bidwill agreed to buy the Cardinals from Dr. David Jones in 1932 and owned the team for 15 years before his death in 1947. Bidwill helped construct the 1947 NFL championship team but died eight months before the title. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1967.

Ernie Nevers, fullback, 1929-1931: Nevers was an All-Pro selection in each of his three years with the Cardinals. He is the only player in NFL history to accumulate 40 points in a game, scoring six touchdowns and kicking four extra points in a 40-0 win over the Chicago Bears on Nov. 28, 1929. Nevers was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1963.

Jimmy Conzelman, coach, 1940-1942; 1946-1948: Conzelman had a pair of stints as coach of the Cardinals, the

final three years of which he really shined. The Cardinals won the title in 1947 with Conzelman leading the way, then won 11 of 12 games and a division title in 1948. He was in the 1964 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

John "Paddy" Driscoll, quarterback, 1920-1925: Driscoll was a versatile threat in his six-year tenure with the Cardinals, excelling on offense, defense and as the kicker. He was an all-NFL selection six times and once made a 55-yard drop-kicked field goal. He ran for a career-high six touchdowns in 1923. Driscoll was a 1965 Hall of Fame selection.

Charley Trippi, running back, 1947-1955: The addition of Trippi helped the Cardinals claim the 1947 championship, as he totaled 206 yards and two touchdowns in the 28-21 title-game victory over the Philadelphia Eagles. Trippi was a three-time All-Pro and two-time Pro Bowler with the Cardinals, beginning at running back and then switching to quarterback. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame with Driscoll in 1965.

Ollie Matson, running back, 1952-1958: The Cardinals chose the talented rusher with the third pick of the 1952 draft, and he collected six Pro Bowl nods in his seven years with the team. Matson was named to the 1950s All-Decade Team and inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1976.

Dick "Night Train" Lane, cornerback, 1954-1959: Lane played in four Pro Bowls with the Cardinals and was the highest-rated player from the team when the Sporting News unveiled a list of its 100 Greatest Football Players in 1999. Lane recorded 68 interceptions in his career and was a Hall of Fame inductee in 1974. He made the NFL 1950s All-Decade team.

Marshall Goldberg, running back, 1939-1944; 1946-1948: Goldberg played eight seasons with the Cardinals in a span of 11 years, interrupted by a three-year stint in the Navy during World War II. He was an All-Pro selection in 1941 and finished his career with 1,644 rushing yards, 775 receiving yards and 16 combined touchdowns. He also picked off 19 passes on defense.

Dan Dierdorf, offensive tackle, 1971-1983: Dierdorf was a six-time Pro Bowler and five-time All-Pro selection in his 13-year career with the Cardinals. He made the NFL 1970s All-Decade team and was the NFC's Offensive Lineman of the Year three straight times from 1976-78. He didn't give up a sack in the 1976 or 1977 seasons.

Pat Tillman, safety, 1998-2001: Tillman was a seventh-round pick of the Cardinals in the 1999 draft and eventually became a key starter. He gave up a three-year, $3.6 million contract in the prime of his career to serve with the Army Rangers following the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. He was killed by friendly fire in Afghanistan on April 22, 2004. Tillman finished his career with 238 tackles and three interceptions.

Larry Wilson, safety, 1960-1972: Wilson was named an All-Pro and Pro Bowler eight times apiece during his career. He was chosen to both the NFL 1960s and 1970s All-Decade teams and was named the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1966. He leads the franchise in career interceptions with 52 and was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1978.

Roger Wehrli, cornerback, 1969-1982: Wehrli was chosen to the Pro Bowl seven times in his career and was a first-team All-Pro selection five times. He was a member of the NFL 1970s All-Decade team and finished his career with 40 interceptions and nine touchdowns. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2007.

Aeneas Williams, cornerback, 1991-2000: Williams made the Pro Bowl in six straight seasons for the Cardinals from 1994-1999. He was a four-time first-team All-Pro during his time in Arizona and was named to the NFL 1990s All-Decade team. He had 46 interceptions in his 10 years with the Cardinals. Williams will be inducted to the Hall of Fame later this year.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content