Arizona Cardinals Home: The official source of the latest Cardinals headlines, news, videos, photos, tickets, rosters and game day information


Presented by

Cardinals Name Their Captains For The 2019 Season

The Cardinals have named their captains for the 2019 season, and given that the starting quarterback is a rookie, none are a surprise after voting from the players.

  • WR Larry Fitzgerald
  • C A.Q. Shipley
  • OLB Chandler Jones
  • DT Corey Peters
  • P Andy Lee

Fitz, Jones and Peters repeat as captains from 2018. Shipley is a captain for the first time in his career, and earns the title after having to fight for his starting position against Mason Cole throughout the offseason and training camp.

"It's a great honor," Shipley said. "It's a peer vote, so any time you've got the respect of your teammates, it means a heck of a great deal to someone. I was pleasantly surprised after practice when we heard that (Tuesday)."

Jones is the only captain younger than 31 -- and Jones, in his eighth season, is 29.

"I thought (the picks) were great," coach Kliff Kingsbury said. "You watch those guys operate day in and day out, how they treat people, how they carry themselves. They are true professionals in every sense of the word, great guys for our young players to look up to and lean on."

The Cardinals returned to practice Wednesday, with the season opener Sunday against Detroit.

OLB Chandler Jones and DT Corey Peters
OLB Chandler Jones and DT Corey Peters