Skip to main content

Arizona Cardinals Home: The official source of the latest Cardinals headlines, news, videos, photos, tickets, rosters and game day information

Bill Bidwill Elected To Arizona Sports Hall Of Fame

Cardinals owner picked for contributions to sports community


Cardinals owner Bill Bidwill (right) with sons Michael (center), who is team president, and Tim.

Cardinals owner Bill Bidwill is part of the 2017 class elected to the Arizona Sports Hall of Fame, it was announced Tuesday.

Bidwill joins former Arizona Coyotes forward Shane Doan, sportswriter Paola Boivin, ASU wrestler Anthony Robles and former Suns guard/Grand Canyon University coach Dan Majerle.

The Hall honors athletes, coaches and others who have made significant contributions to sports in

the state. Former Cardinals all-pro safety Adrian Wilson was elected in the Class of 2016.

Inductees must meet one of three criteria: Be an Arizona native, be immediately recognized as an Arizonan, or have made at least two significant contributions to Arizona's athletic community.

The class will be inducted Nov. 1 at Scottsdale Plaza Resort.

Bidwill brought the Cardinals to Arizona in 1988. He also brought a charitable side, creating Cardinals Charities, the team's philanthropic branch that contributes to worthy causes in the state.

Bidwill is credited with helping bring Super Bowl XXX to Arizona in 1996, the first of three Super Bowls that have been played at the Cardinals' home stadium. University of Phoenix Stadium opened in 2006. Over the last four seasons, the Cardinals have won more games (41) than any other four-year period in franchise history, and University of Phoenix Stadium has sold out all 116 games the team has played there. The team also reached the Super Bowl itself in the 2008 season.

"We congratulate each new Arizona Sports Hall of Fame member," Arizona Sports and Entertainment executive director Nikki Balich-Cammarata said in a statement. "This class reflects Arizona's great diversity – and each of them has played a role in our state's memorable sports history."

For more information or to purchase tickets for the ceremony, visit

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.